Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

All other Modules /

Discuss all other Modules here.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

[SOLVED]Comment module: how to install without composer ?

Go to End

5 Posts   1529 Views

jaaf

Community Member, 24 Posts

8 February 2014 at 7:43pm

Edited: 08/02/2014 7:47pm

Hi,

I am very new to SilverStripe. I am reading the book about it but as I expected things have changed a lot since it was published.

I am at the stage of trying the comment module but as my site is hosted on a shared account, I cannot make use of composer.
I could do on a local site I have on my computer but my concern is to learn how to install it on line thus I try without composer.

Hereafter is what I did:

a) I downloaded the zip package and unzipped it locally. Then I put it on my local site's root renaming it "comments".
b) I visited the http://localhost/devbuild page and had the database updated apparently correctly.
c) I added this in mysite/_config.php

// Adds commenting to the class SiteTree (all Pages)
	Commenting::add('SiteTree', array(
		'require_login' => false, // boolean, whether a user needs to login
		'required_permission' => false,  // required permission to comment (or array of permissions)
		'include_js' => true, // Enhance operation by ajax behaviour on moderation links
		'show_comments_when_disabled' => false, // when comments are disabled should we show older comments (if available)
		'order_comments_by' => "\"Created\" DESC",
		'comments_per_page' => 10,