Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, biapar, Willr, Ingo, simon_w

generate tables in template

7 Posts   2521 Views

Bas

Community Member, 2 Posts

14 November 2007 at 8:11pm

Hello everybody,

I'm still quite new to Silverstripe - But am quite enthusiastic about it.

I have one question. Imagine i have something similar to the newssection as created in the tutorial, but now I want to show it in a table.
So instead of all items being iterated, and show below each other, i want to create table cells. And that's easy, but i can't find how to automatically insert a new table row after let's say each 3 cells.

Below I have the control code from the template. And this is working, except I need to generate every 3 <td></td> and additional </tr><tr>.

<table>
   <tr>
<% control Children %>
    <td>
         <p>$Pos - $Title</p>
         <p>$Iterator</p>
         <embed src="$URL" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="200" height="173" allowFullScreen="true"></embed><br />
         <% if NewRow %>
             <p>tsja - en nu is newrow true</p>
          <% else %>
             <p>tsja - en nu is newrow false</p>
         <% end_if %>

</td>

<% end_control %>
   </tr>
   </table>

hope someone can give me some help
Thanks
Bas

Sean

Forum Moderator, 922 Posts

25 November 2007 at 12:17pm

Edited: 25/11/2007 12:18pm

Can you not move the <tr> and </tr> elements inside the <% control Children %> block?

Oh, but then each child would have a <tr>... Hmm, you'll probably need a custom method to generate this table for you.

Sean

Willr

Forum Moderator, 5513 Posts

25 November 2007 at 4:15pm