Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo

Will this work for multiple-person site management?

Go to End

6 Posts   2318 Views

mjjss

Community Member, 4 Posts

16 May 2007 at 1:05pm

Edited: 16/05/2007 1:32pm

After reading more in the tutorials, I'm beginning to think this CMS will not be ideal for a site that will have several content managers. I'm a third-party developer. The company has several employees who would use the CMS to update content. If I understand the tutorials correctly, the web site must reside on one person's PC, not on a remote server where all users would be updating the same files. Am I correct? Is SilverStripe not a good option for multiple site managers?

Mary Jo

Willr

Forum Moderator, 5523 Posts

16 May 2007 at 2:44pm

.."If I understand the tutorials correctly, the web site must reside on one person's PC, not on a remote server where all users would be updating the same files"...

SilverStripe runs on remote servers.. Eg our main silverstripe site runs on a server and each staff member can edit files. Though I recommend using SVN to prevent any problems with multiple users editing the same files at once :P You usually run SilverStripe locally (on your pc) when you are testing or playing around with the system eg when following the tutorial

Sean

Forum Moderator, 922 Posts

16 May 2007 at 11:13pm

Edited: 16/05/2007 11:18pm