is this a bug or feature? When I delete a page, then it is not deleted from history (`SiteTree_versions` SQL table).
I think it's a bug. The deleted page cannot be accessed from CMS. Furthermore, when I create a new page (of different class), it can be assigned the same ID as the deleted page. This can cause problems.
i suppose that's the way it should work - see it as a backup which silverstripe is just lacking the UI to browse through. the versioned-entries of deleted pages shouldn't disturb anything (if you've got your auto_increment properly set up in mysql, it shouldn't get the same ID)
Lets suppose i have pages with IDs: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. I delete the page with ID==5. I create a new page, and it has the ID==5. So, I have wrong autoincrement in MySQL? Should the SS sets the autoincrement during the installation?