Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Go to End

6 Posts   979 Views

mi32dogs

Community Member, 75 Posts

8 March 2015 at 11:28am

Hi, I’m new to silverstripe, and I’m trying to evaluate if I want to use silverstripe for my next projects.

I love it so far but I’m running into a problem with the DataObject validation. I have to build a lot of DataObjects (and building them so far is great and fast) but I need a way to validate everything that the customer is going to input. So far I have found that you can use the getCMSValidator to set the required fields but that is it.

I have seen some people extend the RequiredFields class I will have to do that of every time I build a new DataObject (I have about 25 of them).

Is there a way to validate dataobjects preferable client side with something similar to jQuery.Validate or if that is not an option something that is reusable? So you have a RequiredFields class and a UniqueFields class etc.

Thanks

Pyromanik

Community Member, 419 Posts

8 March 2015 at 11:50am

Edited: 08/03/2015 11:52am

It depends on what you mean by 'validate'.
But it sounds like you want to ensure that numbers are number, and emails are emails (as per your 'frontend' comment).

This is all built in. Simply ensure you've defined the correct field type.

This can be done with DataObject in two ways:
1. Relying on the scaffolder
2. Implmeneting getCMSFeilds
The latter usually leverages the first.

To leverage the scaffolder, ensure you have the correct data type set when defining private static $db.