Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Customising the CMS /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

SS3: Many-to-many with extra field

Go to End

8 Posts   2451 Views

myak

Community Member, 4 Posts

27 July 2012 at 9:34pm

Hello,

I'm very new to SS but I love it already. I'm writing quite a simple site and the most advanced topic I'm struggling with is a many-to-many relation between Projects and Resources that has an extra field called Priority. Any resource may be assigned to any number of projects with an integer priority.

In the CMS, I would like to be able to assign resources on the project page, using a checkbox, like with ManyManyComplexTableField but also be able to put in the priority in an edit box. API reference notes that ManyManyComplexTableField is deprecated in favor of GridField and I also saw people recommending it here on forums when I searched but I have no idea on how to use it.

Do you have a working example in one of your projects or maybe there is an existing addon with source code available to learn from? I would appreciate any tips on how to implement this functionality.

Thanks in advance!

myak

7 August 2012 at 5:18am

Anyone? It's the only thing keeping me from choosing SS for this project. Any working solution would do, not necessarily based on GridField, I'm okay updating database directly, I just need a pointer in a right direction on how can I edit many-to-many extra fields.

DesignerX.com.au

Community Member, 107 Posts

9 August 2012 at 5:15am

Hi: