Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Data Model Questions /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Getting many_many relationships to sync correctly on complex data tables

Go to End

6 Posts   2836 Views

mark-e-mark

Community Member, 9 Posts

8 February 2010 at 2:51am

Hi Guys/Girls

Let me start by saying that I'm new to SilverStripe but loving it! I have a background in PHP, CodeIgniter, and Drupal. Let's just say that Drupal is going bye-bye :)

That being said, I am having issues getting many_many relationships to sync correctly on ManyManyComplexTableField tables. I'm sure it is something simple - but I've searched and scoured and tried various alterations - all to no avail (eg. setParentClass, using belong_many_many, even trying to specify the join on the ManyManyComplexTableField, etc).

I have two DataObjects that I wish to be able to manipulate in the CMS backend: 'Feature' and 'PlanType'. Each PlanType can have multiple Features, and each Feature may be applicable to multiple plans. I can get the options for PlanType to show up on Feature and v.v.

However:
- If I add a PlanType and check that it has a certain Feature on the ManyManyComplexTableField it will record and save the value without issue
- If I then go to Feature and look at the ManyManyComplexTableField, it does NOT show that PlanType is linked