Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Love SS but...

Go to End

9 Posts   3627 Views

te_chris

Community Member, 24 Posts

18 June 2010 at 12:11pm

Hey guys,

My name's Chris and I'm a PHP Dev based in Dunedin currently spending all my time building a start-up web app type business. I'm coding in SilverStripe (well, sapphire to be more precise) and I must say, Sapphire is a GREAT framework, however I don't think enough devs know this. I feel like, though it has got you to where you are now, marketing SS as a CMS is selling short the power and dev-friendlyness of Sapphire. I know, who am I, some upstart with big ideas blah blah blah...but I guess I just wanted to find out what the status of Sapphire is? I've done quite a bit of work in Code Igniter (but seriously, php4, nah....) and I think their model is one that should be looked at for SS/Sapphire. Even though Sapphire is a FAR better framework than CI, I feel that the support for sapphire in particular is lacking because it is still under the banner of the CMS thus most devs won't take it seriously. Sure, obviously I do but what I'm getting to is: Have you guys ever thought of going the CI/ExpressionEngine route of separating the framework from the CMS in order to gain a bigger Dev community for the framework?

I may be crazy, but my main interest is making SS/Sapphire better, promise!

Chris

Jedateach