Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Translatable custom data object?

Go to End

18 Posts   5031 Views

spyrosk

Community Member, 16 Posts

20 December 2010 at 1:46pm

Hi! I'm new to Silverstripe and although I like it's approach very much, I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the information. Here is what I would like to do:
Create something like a portfolio page with links to categories/types of projects and other attributes, e.g. client, year of completion, start date etc.
Each project should have a few custom fields, like the ones mentioned above, and a few images that will be displayed on it's page. Some fields should be just custom text, but others should be selected from a drop-down list.
And here is the funny part, the site should support 2 to 3 different languages.. :(

Has anyone implemented anything like this in the past? Is it possible using SS, without having separate installations?
I don't seek a ready made solution, just a little guidance on how I should tackle this. I have already looked at modules like DOM, Uploadify etc, but I haven't found a solution regarding the multilingual and fields issue.
Thank you and sorry if I posted this in the wrong section.

MarcusDalgren

Community Member, 288 Posts

21 December 2010 at 12:51am

Yes this is very doable!