Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

(solved) Autocomplete TextFields: How can you get it to work?

Go to End

21 Posts   7447 Views

BlueScreen

Community Member, 36 Posts

16 March 2011 at 11:38am

Edited: 16/03/2011 11:40am

Since I am new to Silverstripe, I don't know what the whole fiasco is with Silverstripes native Autocompletetextfields and why they have been depreciated. I missed out on any sort of consensus on what to do about that and what will be done in the future. Can someone please point what the currently recommended alternative is for autocompleting/autosuggesting textfields?

I am aware of:

ss-formfields (http://silverstripe.org/silverstripe-formfields-module/) (http://code.google.com/p/ss-module-formfields/)
balbus designs adaption of formfields (http://www.balbus.tk/autocomplete-with-jquery-ui/)
and tag field (http://www.silverstripe.org/tag-field-module/)

But which one works best? Which one is easier to install and has plenty of documentation? What other options do I have?

I'm trying to get formfields working at the moment but the output of each autosuggest is 'Failed to load source for: [root]/index/field/[textbox]/suggest?=[params]'. I'm not sure what I am missing. Full documentation seems to be hard to come by

BlueScreen

16 March 2011 at 1:30pm

Edited: 16/03/2011 1:31pm