Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Is SilverStripe well suited for a customer database project?

Go to End

2 Posts   1761 Views

CrazySyntax

Community Member, 1 Post

21 October 2013 at 2:28pm

Hello,

i'm totally new to SilverStripe and consider to try out SilverStripe for a future project, so i better ask the experts before i start, if SilverStripe meets my requirements. Is it recommendable to build something like a customer database with invoice processing with SilverStripe?

My aim is, that in the future up to 10 users are able to work online, enter customers, print invoices and so on. We talk only about a couple of hundret customers per branche with membership fees consisting of individual parts. The accounting system will have to take care about dunning, different key dates and contract durations and a contract can be suspendet or adapted in special situations, so i need flexible access to the data and need to work with my own database model.

Each user should be able to login at the same time with different login data and should only see his own data respectively the customers he entered. The user web interface should be the same for all users. There should be an easy way to add or edit customers respectively their contracts, write invoices with an invoice template, change text modules of the invoices with an build in editor.