Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Need a ADMIN-only access page

Go to End

5 Posts   1295 Views

AD5XJ

Community Member, 35 Posts

19 August 2014 at 3:20am

I am new to SilverStripe and enjoy it very much. I am learning a lot from the docs and tutorials.

However, the simple theme used in all the docs and tutorials has the CMS access link on the home page for all viewers. Such access is not the desirable situation for a live site for me.

I would like to create a separate (and not so obvious) login page displaying the normal /Security/Login page -- something like /user/login without a link on the home page. The annonymous user would, by definition, NOT know of the /user/login URL path.

Creating a home page for anonymous users is not a difficult task. I need only remove the links for CMS login and documentation from the HomePage. Creating the unique /user/login login page referring to the normal CMS login is a more confusing issue for me.

1) is the URL /user/login just a matter of creating a folder on the site in /assets or is it a matter of adding something to the content from CMS? ? ?