Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

How to show pdf

Go to End

11 Posts   5719 Views

kaloschke

Community Member, 8 Posts

30 September 2009 at 7:38am

Hi,
I'm very new to silverstripe. Is it possible to show a pdf-file inside the content-section?
What I have to do to manage that?

Thank you,
Kaloschke

Howard

Community Member, 215 Posts

30 September 2009 at 9:29am

Hi there,

This can't be done with SilverStripe directly but you can certainly use another service to display a pdf withen a silverstripe site. One service that I have used with success is here https://docs.google.com/viewer. To do this you have to upload a pdf somewhere on the internet (you could upload it through the Files and Images tab in silverstripe) then paste the location of it into the input box. Once you hit "Generate Link" the bottom block of code is an Iframe which can be pasted into the HTML code of a page in the CMS. I'm not sure if the Iframe gets stripped out by TinyMce but give it a go :)

Hope this points you in the right direction :)

baba-papa

Community Member, 279 Posts

30 September 2009 at 9:46am

The gallery module supports pdf. I don´t know how it works exactly but you could give it a try.

dalesaurus

Community Member, 283 Posts

30 September 2009 at 4:11pm

There is always a quick and dirty solution, like the above with Google Docs.

Try http://www.pdfmenot.com/ in an iframe, perhaps?