Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Installing SilverStripe /

Getting SilverStripe up and running on your computer and on your web server.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

2nd install on wamp - php 5 is required

Go to End

2 Posts   1939 Views

Scorpiankh

Community Member, 63 Posts

9 February 2010 at 5:27pm

Edited: 09/02/2010 9:02pm

OK, I'm pretty new to all this ...
I got silverstripe about a month ago, got wamp server on my pc (running Vista, and using firefox for browsing just in case thats relevant)
installed it and worked my way throught the tutorials.

Now I want to build another website. I backed up the initial silverstripe file when i first unzipped it but have since lost that file, so I copied the one I installed and was working on for the tutorials (not sure if thats a good idea or not but it seemed like it was worth a try) ...
file structure:
...../wamp
........../www
.............../SilverStripe
.............../NewSite
Ran the install.php file in the newsite folder and it straight away came up with a page titled 'PHP 5 is Required' with a whole lot of code on it ...
I remember having the same problem when I did the first install, I found the solution for it at the time and book marked the page I found it on but that page has since vanished and I've just spent about 2 hours searching for a solution to the problem, and I can't remember what it was that I did to fix it the first time.