Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Template Questions /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Develop my first template

Go to End

6 Posts   1673 Views

Kai

Community Member, 4 Posts

1 February 2011 at 8:55am

Hello, I am a Joomla superuser & developer, and I have used Joomla for over 5 years now. I am also a PHP developer, and I have developed a bunch of Joomla templates. I work as a webdeveloper at a ad-agency, and I would like to start using SilverStripe for new sites. SilverStripe looks very promising, and really look forward to get to know more about this tool.

Since I am new to SilverStripe, I would like to know how to build my own template? I would like to create a new template from scratch. I have coded my own HTML template with CSS. What is correct folderstructure?

I tried to duplicate the tutorial template, but that didn't worked well.

Mrfixer

Community Member, 49 Posts

1 February 2011 at 11:39am

My advise would be to check the tutorial again, i followed it myself only 2 days ago and im having no problems at all, important points would be to note that:

"mysite" folder contains your _config.php and also a sub-folder "code" that contains the controllers for your page templates (important if you need to add seperate fields into a page templates CMS)