Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Template Questions /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

How to get only this year's child pages in list

Go to End

6 Posts   1566 Views

Bronwyn

Community Member, 22 Posts

16 September 2011 at 4:44pm

Hi, I'm not very experienced at Silverstripe, and the guy who helped me build our uni department's site was a student here and has gone. This is probably really easy but it's driving me nuts.

We have news articles, which are held in a news holder page, but the three most recent news articles are also displayed on our homepage. Because of this, and because we want the articles to be displayed in order of time (most recent first) instead of the order they appear in the CMS , we are not using <% control Children %> to display the news articles. Instead, we have a function which lives in the NewsHolder Controller:

function LatestNews() {
$news = DataObject::get_one("NewsHolder");
return ($news) ? DataObject::get("NewsArticle", "ParentID = $news->ID", "Date DESC", "") : false;
}