Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

Template Questions /

A page head for each section

Go to End

24 Posts   7000 Views

Mans

Community Member, 21 Posts

13 February 2009 at 5:21am

Hi!

I'm new to SilverStripe, but so far I like it very much. I now have a development problem which I don't know quite how to solve (unfortunately the SS documentation seems to be far from complete).

I have a site with six "sections" = six pages on Level 1 in the site structure. I want a distinct page head for each section, which would be inherited by the sub-pages of each respective section. For ease of maintenance I would like not having to create six different page types; I would rather have one page head which detects the section and replaces the shown contents accordingly.

I tried using $URLSegment as body id and showing only the correct head by means of css. This worked fine on the top level, but as each sub-page get their own url this solution was not practical. I have also tried experimenting with Level(1) etc. but found no workable solution.

Does anyone have a suggestion for a nice solution? I should also add that I am no programming genious -- I have dabbled in various simpler programming for a decade or two, but much of it is really over my head.

Yours,
MÃ¥ns

schellmax

Community Member, 126 Posts

13 February 2009 at 6:34am

my first thought was using different PageTypes, too - as you don't want to, things might be a little trickier.
a solution i can think of is to add an attribute to your page classlike so

static $db = array(
"header" => "Enum('header1,header2,header3,header4,header5,header6,inherit','inherit')",
);

then populate the options in a dropdown in the cms:

function getCMSFields() {
$fields = parent::getCMSFields();
$field = new DropdownField(
'header',
'select header:',
singleton('Page')->dbObject('header')->enumValues()
);