Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

Themes /

Discuss SilverStripe Themes.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba, simon_w

Another theme installation problem

Go to End

10 Posts   2930 Views

neuron

Community Member, 6 Posts

10 March 2010 at 11:36pm

Edited: 11/03/2010 12:14am

Hi there!

Sorry for starting another "theme install problem" thread but my problem doesn't seem to be covered by the existing threads. I am fairly new to Silverstripe and started to run it with MAMP on my Mac. Everything went fine and I was also able to download new themes, put them into the themes folder, change /mysite/_config.php and voila the new theme was shown.

Now I did install Silverstripe on a websever. The installation process went fine and I can use both the tutorial theme and also the blackcandy theme by changing _config.php respectively. If I download another theme though, upload it to the themes folder and change _config.php I will just get a blank site this happens no matter theme I choose apart from 'tutorial' and 'blackcandy'. It even happens if I copy all 'blackcandy' subfolders and files into a new folder calles mytheme in the themes folder and change _config.php respectively. So it is not a problem of the subfolder structure or the .ss files but rather a problem of the server not fiinding the themes in general. This there anything else I need to refresh or change apart from -config.php

Sorry for such a dump question but I am still a newbie in this regard.
Cheers,
Torsten

Just some more information:
I tried to use theme 'BrightSide'

In the themes folder I have the following subfolders as downloaded from the web:

BrightSide1
BrightSide1_blog
BrightSide1_ecommerce
BrightSide1_forum