Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Themes /

Discuss SilverStripe Themes.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Adding CMS Editable Areas

Go to End

15 Posts   6816 Views

goodness

Community Member, 38 Posts

13 April 2013 at 7:33am

Edited: 13/04/2013 7:35am

Hello All,

I'm new to SilverStripe and am trying to configure the CMS to render several different page layouts.
I've gone through all of the online tutorials but haven't been able to locate any simple (step-by-step) direction on what I'm trying to do.

I've built a design based on the Simple theme.

What I want to do is add content areas to a new page type (layout) that will have areas that can be populated/edited within the CMS.

The pages would have the left sidebar showing as they will all have "children" navigation.
I want to have the Main content area fill the full (remaining) width of the page and then add 2 or 3 "Feature areas" (that can be populated and edited within the CMS) below that content and have them lined up side-by-side.

I have created a quick image (attached) to show what I'm attempting. Basically I need some detailed input on how to create this as a page type (layout).

Thank you in advance to anyone/everyone that is willing to take the time to help me. Your advice and expertise is greatly appreciated.

I'm running version 3.0.5.

Attached Files
Optic Blaze

Community Member, 190 Posts

13 April 2013 at 11:03am

Ok to do this you will need a couple of things

1) You need to create the fields that can be edited in the CMS