Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.


SilverStripe 3.0 preview 1 is here!

It is with an enormous sense of pride, excitement, nervousness and relief that we are...

Tagged 3.0, sapphire, release, CMS

Comments 9

by Joanna McLeod

Posted 2 May 2011

Read post

It is with an enormous sense of pride, excitement, nervousness and relief that we are able to announce that SilverStripe 3.0 preview 1 has been released. This release is mainly focused on the separation of Sapphire as a framework from the "cms" module, as well as starting the new user interface implementation for the CMS. While most of the work is "under the hood", you should get a feel for how we plan to improve the authoring experience with the new interface.
Note: This release only supports the latest versions Google Chrome and Firefox, we’re in the process of adding IE support.

SilverStripe is introducing "preview releases" as a way to provide interested developers with an early stage snapshot of our work. Preview releases will be followed by "alpha releases", which contain most major API changes, and allows us to stabilise any API changes.

We’d love for you to download it, have a look around, and start contributing your code back to us. Have a look at our upgrading guide and the detailed changelog to get the full picture.

Our development team is currently working on the new ORM, which will allow more flexible data models and more expressive query syntax. Also in the pipeline: Dependency injection and a configuration framework to allow easier extension and customization of common framework aspects.

There is still a lot of work before SilverStripe 3.0 will see the light of day, and you’re welcome to contribute to these efforts. As a good starting point, follow discussions on new APIs on our developer mailing list, and discuss details on the new user interface there.

We'd like to thank everybody who helped with discussing, developing and testing this release, you guys rock!