Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

All other Modules /

Discuss all other Modules here.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Email obfuscation

Go to End

6 Posts   1359 Views

Puzzling

Community Member, 3 Posts

28 July 2012 at 10:49am

I'm new to SS. We're trying to use 2.4.7 on a small site.

I want to add a module to perform email obfuscation in my page controller. The method used by the hide-email module by Simon Wade is roughly what I want to use but that module did not work well for me. In that module, he basically does three things

1) Replace the mailto: link with an obfuscated bit of javascript that writes the correct text into the document using document.write.
2) Create and support a noscript option sending the user to a controller that issues a redirect to the mailto link
3) Inserts the supporting JS in the content.

The problem I`m running into is that the substitutions above are performed before the data is written to the DB. I think other issues, likely related to being on a later version of SS (2.4.7), seem to further mangle things. I'd prefer to have the control flow rewrite the content immediately prior to display leaving the data in the DB unmodified. Unfortunately, I cannot find an appropriate hook point (like an onBeforeView). Am I missing something? I suppose I could also look to do something in my theme but that just feels wrong.

Willr

Forum Moderator, 5523 Posts

28 July 2012 at 1:22pm