Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

All other Modules /

Discuss all other Modules here.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

How to extend a user created module?

Go to End

5 Posts   956 Views

Mmm

Community Member, 3 Posts

29 January 2014 at 3:18am

Hi all.

First of all, if this is wrong subforum, please move it to correct one. I was unsure where to post it.

This is a specific-case question, but as well a general one. I am new to Silverstripe, coming from being Wordpress developer, using the latest release. I need to create custom menu set, for which I have choosen Heyday Menu Manager

This works ok: I can define custom menu sets, menu items that might not be linked to Pages inside SS installation. All great. Unfortunately, I need a class for each generated item in the loop, which can be based on the MenuTitle. Alas, MenuTitle can contain spaces, so I need to get rid of those before.

My first aim was to modify the MenuItem.php code inside the extension itself, by adding this inside the __get method:

if( $field == 'MenuClass' ) {
			return str_replace("\s", '', $this->__get('MenuTitle'));
		}

This does work, I get an additional MenuClass property to use inside the loop. Unfortunately, this is not the way I'd like to tackle the issue, since any further update to the extension itself won't be available due to modified base code.

I can just fork the project on Github, add MenuClass (or MenuLabel) inside fields of MenuItem and just work that way, but still this is prone to too much problems in my opinion.