Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo

generate tables in template

Go to End

7 Posts   2979 Views

Bas

Community Member, 2 Posts

14 November 2007 at 8:11pm

Hello everybody,

I'm still quite new to Silverstripe - But am quite enthusiastic about it.

I have one question. Imagine i have something similar to the newssection as created in the tutorial, but now I want to show it in a table.
So instead of all items being iterated, and show below each other, i want to create table cells. And that's easy, but i can't find how to automatically insert a new table row after let's say each 3 cells.

Below I have the control code from the template. And this is working, except I need to generate every 3 <td></td> and additional </tr><tr>.

<table>
<tr>
<% control Children %>
<td>
<p>$Pos - $Title</p>
<p>$Iterator</p>
<embed src="$URL" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="200" height="173" allowFullScreen="true"></embed><br />
<% if NewRow %>
<p>tsja - en nu is newrow true</p>
<% else %>
<p>tsja - en nu is newrow false</p>
<% end_if %>

</td>

<% end_control %>
</tr>
</table>

hope someone can give me some help
Thanks
Bas

Sean

Forum Moderator, 922 Posts

25 November 2007 at 12:17pm

Edited: 25/11/2007 12:18pm

Can you not move the <tr> and </tr> elements inside the <% control Children %> block?

Oh, but then each child would have a <tr>... Hmm, you'll probably need a custom method to generate this table for you.

Sean

Willr