Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo

SilverStripe vs Other CMSs.

Go to End

7 Posts   6960 Views

SteveG

Community Member, 3 Posts

1 May 2008 at 11:47am

Hi all,

Newbie here. :-)

I have spent several months looking at a heap of different CMSs and had just about made my mind up to go with two: CMS Made Simple (www.cmsmadesimple.org) for simple websites (because of ease of use) and Joomla for more complex ones. And then I came across SilverStripe.

It looked very, very interesting so I downloaded and installed it. When I logged in I thought, well, it looked kind of sparse. But looking at some of the sites built with SilverStripe it looks like it can do some very impressive things.

So I'm guessing I'm probably missing something and that there is some functionality I'm not aware of. Can anyone perhaps tell me how SilverStripe compares with other CMSs in terms of functionality, ease-of-use, etc.?

Also, are there any plans to add PayPal support to the ecommerce module?

Please note that I'm not trying to start a flame war or anything like that. My questions are genuine. I really want to know if I should be looking at SilverStripe instead of other CMSs, especially the two I originally decided to go with.