Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo

Moving webpages to a commercial hosting website

Go to End

17 Posts   10269 Views

carola

Community Member, 12 Posts

26 July 2008 at 5:20pm

As a complete beginner, I have adapted the natureweb4 theme a little, and produced webpages to upload to a hosting site. My webpages are all contained within the Natureweb directories, the config php file in Mysite refers to that theme, all other directories in Mysite are untouched. (if that is important?)

I have arranged for Website hosting to be done by Net24, (who support the open source software used by Silverstripe) with my new Website name. Their instructions for sending my Webpages involve Primary DNS Hostname, Slave DNS Hostname and upload instructions for uploading FTP files etc I can see an empty site page ready waiting for my webpages, but have no idea how to move them there with FTP. I cant find any documentation or method in Siverstripe CMS to publishing my new pages on the internet at the new site. At the moment all my pages come under silverstripe.com.

I am sure this must be simple knowledge for most people here, but I would be most grateful for any advice

Willr

Forum Moderator, 5523 Posts

26 July 2008 at 11:00pm

if you want to copy pages and content you have entered on your localcopy to the live webserver you will have to export the Database of your local to the live site - you will need to use a tool like phpMyadmin to export / import the db.