Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Archive /

Our old forums are still available as a read-only archive.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo

Newbie error

Go to End

8 Posts   12835 Views

Ross.allen

Community Member, 5 Posts

19 September 2008 at 2:38pm

Hello all,
Thanks in advance for havening a look and if you can help, thanks even more!!!
I'm just new to using silver stripe and CMS in general.
I'm installing S S on an apache server running locally on my mac thats running Leopard.

So I'm trying to install SS and I have an error:
"User 'nobody' needs to be able to write to this file:
/Applications/xampp/xamppfiles/htdocs/silverstripe/.htaccess"

So I've tryed to trackdown the .htaccess file and change the permission in finder and through trying to browse to it using a web browser.

I bet its really simple but it escapes me and google and previous post haven't enlightened me with the answer.

Thanks
Ross.

p.s what is the standard method to change the sharing permission of files.

wifiman

Community Member, 20 Posts

19 September 2008 at 5:13pm

Hi Ross,

The Unix command to change permissions is chmod. On the mac, you can do this from a Terminal window. On my 10.4 mac, you can find Terminal in Applications->Utilities->Terminal.

If you've never played with a Unix prompt before, it can be a frustrating experience. but it's not too bad. It's text based, with a prompt after a $ or perhaps other punctuation depending upon your settings. In any case, try typing:

chmod 644 /Applications/xampp/xamppfiles/htdocs/silverstripe/.htaccess