Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Content Editor Discussions /

Forum for content editors and CMS users.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Tiny MCE Javascript Code Stripping Out.. Why?

Go to End

7 Posts   10951 Views

Arun

Community Member, 8 Posts

5 January 2010 at 6:44pm

Hi,

My name is Arun, I am new to the Silverstripe CMS. I have setup a site using this CMS. But now i am facing an issue that is regarding the tiny mce editor.

The issue is that, while i am putting javascript code with in the editor, once we look after saving the content, we can see that the javascript code is fully stipped off.

For eg:
<script language="javascript">
for(1=0;1<10;1++){
document.write('helo world');
}
</script>

consider if this is the code i have put with in the tiny mce editor, after saving it will look like
<script language="javascript"></script>

Anybody have idea why this happend...?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Arun.

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts

5 January 2010 at 8:35pm

Hi Arun, welcome to SilverStripe

There are several topics discussing this matter, just search the forum.
These might give you some pointers:
http://www.silverstripe.org/content-editor-discussions/show/270339
http://silverstripe.org/general-questions/show/255947

But if JavaScript in the Editor is your answer, then you're most likely asking the wrong question. Good practice would be to have an external JavaScript file that adds the desired functionality on top of the content. Have a look at jQuery.

Arun

Community Member, 8 Posts