Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Customising the CMS /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Creating pages from the CMS on save and publish

Go to End

7 Posts   1054 Views

njprrogers

Community Member, 23 Posts

10 March 2011 at 6:12am

Edited: 10/03/2011 6:13am

Hi,

I'm an SS newbie so apologies in advance.

I have a requirement to implement an FAQ section with complex enough requirements for categorisation. (many to many, cms re-ordering of the faq's etc.).

I'd like explore the possibility of creating multiple pages when the user saves an FAQ page type.

So e.g. we have:
Cat 1
- FAQ1
- FAQ2
Cat 2
- FAQ4
- FAQ2
Cat 3
- FAQ5
- FAQ6

We go to add FAQ7 page underneath CAT1, Select one of the other categories from a checklist, and it will add pages to the site tree.
Cat 1
- FAQ1
- FAQ2
- FAQ7
Cat 2
- FAQ4
- FAQ2
- FAQ7
Cat 3
- FAQ5
- FAQ6
- FAQ7

Can you give me any pointers as to how this could be achieved? Whereabouts in the page type code this would be placed?

Thanks,

Nick

honeybunny

Community Member, 79 Posts

11 March 2011 at 1:43am

Hi Nick, are you trying to set it up so that the user starts with a list of FAQ's and and can select for each FAQ category page which to include? (Yes, that sounds even more convoluted now that I've said it, but it's early here.)

If yes, then I would set up an includes file for each possible FAQ, then use a checkbox in the page template. The user can input their FAQ category then check the boxes for the appropriate FAQ responses.

Example:

<% if Faq1 %>

<% include Faq1 %>

<% end_if %>