Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Customising the CMS /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Using Flex UI

Go to End

8 Posts   3688 Views

Mozzy

Community Member, 2 Posts

10 August 2009 at 5:36pm

Hi there,
I'm new to SilverStripe and I was told that the underlying framework supports AMF.
Are there any examples or quick walk-throughs out there that could help me having a flex application as the frontend?

I am still going back and forth between Symfony with Sympal and SilverStripe. If it is rather easy to have a Flex frontend in SilverStripe I would go for it.

Cheers,
Mozzy

Hamish

Community Member, 712 Posts

10 August 2009 at 5:57pm

Not sure if it supports AMF (as in, the binary format), but a SilverStripe template can be in any format you want - i.e. it can return XML that can be consumed by a Flex application.

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts

10 August 2009 at 6:02pm

Edited: 10/08/2009 6:54pm

No, sapphire doesn't support AMF (at least not the 2.3.3 release and I don't think it's on the roadmap). I usually use XML to deliver content for flash sites. If you're thinking about a flash (flex) backend, you would look at a lot of work I'm afraid.
Maybe you also want to have a look at the Zend Framework? They have a good AMF server implementation.

Correction