Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

Data Model Questions /

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

2 related DataObject w/ ModelAdmin for directory

Go to End

5 Posts   1124 Views

Wolfbane

Community Member, 5 Posts

15 November 2011 at 7:21am

Edited: 15/11/2011 7:22am

Hi

I'm new to Silverstripe (though not to other CMS flavors) so if someone could take pity on me that would be great! (Edit, I have been reading over the docs and I am still not making the connection).

I'm trying to build a directory of categories/businesses in Silverstripe which seems to be pretty straightforward using DataObject, however, things are getting tricky because I don't have a set number of categories so I'm trying to use ModelAdmin to manage them both.

My thinking so far has been to create two DataObjects (category & business) and then to relate them to each other:

class Category extends DataObject  {
    static $db = array(
    'Name' => 'Varchar(128)'
    );

static $belongs_many_many = array(
    'Businesses' => 'RecycleDirectory'
    );
}

class RecycleDirectory extends DataObject {

static $db = array(
		'Name' => 'Varchar(255)',
		'Address' => 'Varchar(255)'
);
  static $many_many = array(
    'Categories' => 'Category'
  );

Using ModelAdmin to manage the values:

class DirectoryAdmin extends ModelAdmin {

public static $managed_models = array(
      'RecycleDirectory',
      'Category'
   );
  static $url_segment = 'DirectoryAdmin';
  static $menu_title = 'Recycling Directory';
}

The two issues I'm having are: