Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

DataObjectManager Module /

Discuss the DataObjectManager module, and the related ImageGallery module.

Moderators: martimiz, UncleCheese, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Showing this weeks birthdays

Go to End

8 Posts   1349 Views

Wocker

Community Member, 6 Posts

4 November 2010 at 9:24am

As I am completely new to Silverstripe, I still have some problems understanding some of it's structure and functions. But still I am able to use the basics to create my site.

But now I want to show a listing of all the birthdays of this week... or better, the next 7 days or maybe two weeks on the homepage of my site.
I am thinking about creating a page with all the people profiles, that include the birthday. Than I would like to use a control to filter out the birthdays within, let's say, the next 7 days.

I would think that I would need to create a dataobject that contains all the persons.
But I am not sure how to create that. I can't seem to find very clear instructions on it.

Further more I would think I should create a <% control persons %> and than have some ability to filter them. But how?

I hope someone here on the forum can give me some more insight or guide me to some clear instructions on how to go about this task. Any code examples with explanation would be very welcome because I am still starting to learn Silverstripe.

(deleted)

Community Member, 473 Posts

4 November 2010 at 10:14am

Edited: 04/11/2010 10:14am

All you'll need is a method in your controller that returns a DataObject::get() call. Something like: