Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

DataObjectManager Module /

Discuss the DataObjectManager module, and the related ImageGallery module.

Moderators: martimiz, UncleCheese, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

basic intro please..

Go to End

4 Posts   1869 Views

GreenGecko

Community Member, 5 Posts

17 July 2009 at 11:27am

... Hi folks, I'm an ancient programmer who's trying to get their head around the DOM stuff.

What I'm trying to do it to display a web page that shows the local tide tables for a week/month,etc. I've got the data in a local database table, but am facing a really steep learning curve getting started. Can anyone point me to a real basic first couple of steps intro... the one in the stickies sort of didn't get me on the right track unfortunately?

I really would be grateful!

Cheers,

Steve

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts

17 July 2009 at 6:44pm

Hi Steve

What are you trying to achieve? Do you want your data to be editable inside the CMS and therefore you need the DOM?
If you just need to access the data for the front-end, you could write methods in your controller class that get the data from your db table using a simple SQL query. Or use the SilverStripe SQLQuery object: http://doc.silverstripe.com/doku.php?id=sqlquery

Best - Roman

GreenGecko

Community Member, 5 Posts

31 July 2009 at 12:31pm

Hi Roman,