Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Flash/Actionscript @ SilverStripe API

Go to End

8 Posts   2297 Views

nolyup

Community Member, 5 Posts

15 February 2010 at 2:44am

Hi I'm new to Silverstripe and have a flash/php project that needs to be intergrated so to save me a complete redesign in Flash.

My client wants a flash website and wants the functionality their current CMS (Joomla). Firstly I want to get away from Joomla as it is too fat, I want a light CMS which is why i'm here.

1. I want to use the Admin functionality of Silverstripe (Username/password, groups, permissions, etc)
2. The website will be in flash.

Q. If I have a username/password login window in the flashsite can I use actionscript to access the API of Silverstripe to send authentication?

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts

15 February 2010 at 7:06am

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Flash frontend with a SilverStripe backend works very well. I used it for several sites already (examples: http://bold-werbung.ch, http://chemicalbox.com).
I never felt the need to build the login form in flash, but it is certainly possible. The easiest way is probably to examine the html login form and use the same form-action and field values in flash.

Sean

Forum Moderator, 922 Posts

15 February 2010 at 8:31pm

You might want to use this: http://www.amfphp.org/docs2/amfext.html

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts