Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

want to learn ss

Go to End

6 Posts   1050 Views

vict0r

Community Member, 3 Posts

25 June 2010 at 6:05pm

Hi Everyone,

I have been doing silverstripe tutorials for the past two weeks, but find it difficult to grasp the overall concepts. My background is in design, and I'm a self-taught front-end developer, however the whole MVC and the way CMS operates seem difficult to understand. I would like to extend silverstripe and contribute some quality themes, but I want the end result to be elaborate enough that anyone can use it, so not just the css looks, but the functionality of a full website. I was hoping there might be someone here who would be willing to help me take the html/css/javascript template and prepare it for silverstripe. Seeing how a static page is made dynamic will help me understand ss better, and hopefully will allow me not only to create a few themes for ss, but also create some documentation for desing-oriented people.

So if you feel generous enough to donate some time and help me, I would love to hear from you.

On the other hand, if you're a developer and in need of a designer we can do a trade, you can help me learn ss, and in turn, I will be happy to assist you in your design projects.

Thanks in advance,

Victor

biapar

Forum Moderator, 435 Posts

25 June 2010 at 7:21pm

Hi,