Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

User Editable Variable Data on Both Content and Template

Go to End

6 Posts   1046 Views

scottsloane

Community Member, 7 Posts

6 November 2010 at 11:46am

Hi Forum,

I am just getting started with SilverStripe. I have decided to try to put all new clients on SilverStripe due to the ease of access for the clients.

I have worked through a little bit of the system, but I have a problem I must solve. Here is the premise of the problem. My client needs to have some content display both on a page and in the template. And this data must be editable in one place by the client. To be specific this information is their store hours. As these change over time it would be a real pain for them to have to call me every time they need it changed. And for their convenience I think it would be nice is they could edit it in one place and it display in both locations, the page and the hours page.

Here is the issue. I am so new to silverstripe that I am not even sure what to search for. I have tried a few searches and think I understand how to get strreplace to work with the content. But that is as far as I have been able to find. If someone with a little more experience than myself could help point me in the right direction it would be really appreciated.

Thanks everyone

scottsloane

6 November 2010 at 11:47am