Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Restricting visibility of database items

Go to End

19 Posts   3058 Views

marc79

Community Member, 65 Posts

4 May 2011 at 1:58am

Hi,

I am relatively new to Silverstripe and currently working on a project for site that is selling CD's.

On the site I want to display the track names of each CD on the CD's Product page. So following Tutorial 5 I have so far used the $has_many relationship to link and CD with a track. Meaning that currently When you edit a CD's product page you can add in tracks and then associate them to that CD in the same way Mentors are linked to Students in the tutorial.

However, this isn't ideal for my site as for each CD you can see all available tracks for all CD's, and while you can't add a track to more than one CD it is an unmanageably long list. So, what I am trying to figure out is if there is a way to only show the relevant tracks when editing a CD product page.

The ideal way would be to only show tracks that were added for that CD. So if editing CD One you would only see tracks that were added there and then when editing CD Two you wouldn't see any of the tracks that were added for CD one.

I hope that makes sense and that someone can help point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Marc