Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

SilverStripe Navigation Menu and Controllers

Go to End

3 Posts   6202 Views

Silverfox5545

Community Member, 1 Post

15 August 2011 at 9:42am

Edited: 15/08/2011 9:43am

I am new to SS and have searched long and hard for the answers to my questions before bothering others with them. I have learned a bit in my quest, and have gone through the Tutorials on SS.org and ssbits, however I am still not understanding some of the basics when working with SS and its control codes. Currently, I am trying to get started by using a pre-built theme and modifying it to my particular application. Working on the navigation menu, several questions have come up. Let me preface this by saying I do understand that SS uses variables for pulling data and also has several different folders containing different aspects of the page's layout and behavior. That being said, I have a navigation bar on the left side of the page with five main headings underneath the site root (the one with the globe in the WYSIWYG). When one of the five main headings is clicked I would like to display all of the sub-levels below that heading. Then, when one of the sub-levels is clicked I would like to display a list of the Article Titles that exist underneath the first sub-level as links in the Content area to the right of the navigation menu.