Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Do I need to learn PHP to use Silverstripe?

Go to End

3 Posts   1425 Views

Frankie300

Community Member, 1 Post

2 March 2013 at 10:23am

Edited: 02/03/2013 10:29am

Hi, I am a web designer and have just discovered Silverstripe website after looking up on Google how to add a taxonomy or tag filter capability to my website (to help visitors select or filter down the products by type, color or brand.) I don't know if this is the right thing for me seeing as I only know HTML and CSS. Not PHP at all. Please can you advise me on wether Silverstripe is going to work for me? Any advice greatly appreciated. Thank you

swaiba

Forum Moderator, 1899 Posts

3 March 2013 at 3:05am

Yes, good oo knowledge of PHP is required for most customizations

nicknick

Community Member, 15 Posts

3 March 2013 at 6:16am

Hmm, tricky one. I am new to ss myself and im building my first site as we speak. I have reasonable php knowledge as in i can write my own basic cms with an admin section etc but in this day and age you need to rely on proper tested security so thats why i went with ss especially after my joomla site was repeatedly hacked :-)