Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

creating a thumbnail navigation for client portfolio?

Go to End

8 Posts   2845 Views

patte

Community Member, 63 Posts

20 January 2009 at 10:24pm

Hi,

I am new to silverstripe trying to evaluate it as our future cms. I really like the admin interface and the MVC concept of sapphire/silverstripe. I think it will fit all my needs, hopefully ;-)

I have a question regarding my first website with a client portfolio page - like the StaffHolder/StaffPage in the SS tutorial - but with a thumbail navigation on the left side.

Can someone please explain how to iterate through my ProjectPages (or the StaffPages) using a thumbnail navigation with a class="current" for the active state?

I have tried to replace the Link "$MenuTitle" with "$Photo.SetWidth(50)" which i have created in ProjectPage.php but this ends in a Fatal error: Call to a member function XML_val() on a non-object in Layout.ProjectPage.ss

<% control Menu(2) %>
      <li class="$LinkingMode"><a href="$Link" title="Go to the $Title page">$Photo.SetWidth(50)</a></li>
    <% end_control %>

Can someone give me a tip how to solve this?

Thanks much in advance!
patte

Carbon Crayon

Community Member, 598 Posts

21 January 2009 at 12:45am

Hi Patte, welcome to silverstripe :)

As far as I can see that should work, could you post the rest of your code?

cheers

Aram

patte