Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

incorporate a scrolling news ticker

Go to End

9 Posts   5939 Views

Nic

Community Member, 2 Posts

13 March 2009 at 1:00am

Hi all!

I'm new to SS and I have a problem. I need to incorporate a scrolling news ticker to a site where the news content is editable from the admin area.

An example of what I've had in mind is something like this.

http://www.mioplanet.com/rsc/newsticker_javascript.htm

What would the best practise be to solve this? Create a new newsticker-module or create a widget? Or is there another way to do this?

Best regards and thanks
Nic

Carbon Crayon

Community Member, 598 Posts

13 March 2009 at 1:31pm

Edited: 13/03/2009 1:34pm

hi nic, welcome to Silverstripe

This is pretty straidforward, you just need to output whatever content you want in the ticker into the right markup on your page. Having looked briefly at the ticker code it looks like you would do something like this:

<div id="TICKER" STYLE="overflow:hidden; width:520px">
$TickerContent
</div>

where TickerContent is a field in the $db array.

You could also make it more dynamic and grab content from various pages via a DataObject::get call outputting something like this:

<div id="TICKER" STYLE="overflow:hidden; width:520px">
<% control LatestNews %>
$Title - $Content.FirstSentence
<% end_control %>
</div>