Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

dropdown filtering view of dataobjects from frontend?

Go to End

11 Posts   7641 Views

Jarri

Community Member, 10 Posts

10 April 2009 at 11:40pm

Hi

I am very new to Siverstripe off the beaten track of setting up a basic website up and running so the following may well seem really naive...

I have a big table of exam results that I plan to setup as a dataobject. I should be able to create this under ModelAdmin - creating the ability for the customer to import the table as .csv

I should be able to display this data ok in some form on the website. I need to filter (eg. by level) and sort the results (by grade) based on a number of criteria from the data - I should be able to produce individual get statements to achieve this.

The only problem is that there are a high number of distinct levels - so the brute force approach of creating seperate get statements seems daft.

What would seem ideal is to setup a generic view which would create a get statement based on a filter chosen from a dropdown menu (containing the list of all levels).

I am sure this is possible - could someone point me to some relevant documentation - provide some code snippets - or just generally point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

AlaVive

Community Member, 42 Posts

2 September 2009 at 9:39am

Edited: 02/09/2009 9:40am