Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Is SilverStripe for me?

Go to End

2 Posts   1177 Views

MrBean

Community Member, 1 Post

11 June 2009 at 11:07pm

Edited: 11/06/2009 11:40pm

Hi, I'm looking for a CMS to set up a few websites. I have no PHP experience, and while I plan on learning some in the future I want to be able to set up a decent site before that.

Other than SS I'm interested in MODx, CMSMS, Concrete5 and possibly ExpressionEngine though it is hard to justify the cost. If you could explain how SS fits in with these CMSs that would be helpful to me.

I've tried Drupal in the past, but many things about it bugged me and I am hoping to find an alternative. I need something that will ease and assist me into basic PHP; I only want to learn it to add features, I don't plan on building anything from scratch any time soon.

These are the features I need to begin with:
-Only admins can create users
-Public and user-only content
-User-group permissions
-Custom content types with pages to list specific types (Like Drupal's CCK and Views)
-File attachments
-User-group permissions
-Contact form
-Newsletter
-Forum

Some questions I have regarding SS:
-Would the subsites be suitable for unrelated sites? I guess I would want to use it more like a multi-site, single codebase. I read in another thread that multisites can be done, but that might not be wise for a newbie like me.