Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Quick question from a newbie

Go to End

9 Posts   2999 Views

Alberts2

Community Member, 1 Post

23 August 2009 at 1:08am

Hi Guys and Girls,
I'm new here and I am also new to SilverStripe, although I have a WordPress site which is focused on muscle gaining secrets.
What I would like to ask to all you SilverStripe experts out there, - what are the relative merits of SilverStripe in comparison with WordPress, and what would you say the major advantages of using SilverStripe would be?
Any and all feedback would be welcomed, and thanks for helping a newbie out, :)
Alberts

baba-papa

Community Member, 279 Posts

23 August 2009 at 8:30am

WordPress is for children an silverstripe is for big boys.

bummzack

Community Member, 904 Posts

23 August 2009 at 11:58am

I can't give you a funded answer to your question, since I never really used WordPress for a Site. As far as I know, WordPress started as a blogging software and has grown a lot in functionality with modules (or plugins?). If you're comfortable with WordPress and it covers all your needs, I suggest you stick with it.

As for SilverStripe: I for one like the clean MVC design, the ease of use of the CMS, and the template Engine that easily allows output of site content in different formats (RSS, HTML, etc.)... Just to name a few.

baba-papa

Community Member, 279 Posts