Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

All other Modules /

Discuss all other Modules here.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Article Holder - date descending?

Go to End

11 Posts   4713 Views

FireMe!

Community Member, 74 Posts

14 February 2009 at 6:34am

Hi Guys

I'm new to SS and was just wondering if you guys could help me out with the Article Holder - to get it to have the articles to descend by date.

Ive added this to my ArticleHolder.php

function LatestNews($num=5) {
$news = DataObject::get_one("ArticleHolder");
return ($news) ? DataObject::get("ArticlePage", "ParentID = $news->ID", "Date DESC", "", $num) : false;
} 

But when i go to the articleholder page it only displays ArticleHolder content, and not the Article Pages. But if i delete the above coding its will display the article pages but no in date decending its displayed in the order on there cms.

also this is my ArticleHolder.ss

<% control LatestNews %>
<div class="articleHolder"><br />
  <div class="newsTitle">Latest News </div>
  <div class="newsDateTitle"><a href="$Link" title="Read more on &quot;{$Title}&quot;">$Title</a></div>
  <div class="newsDateTitle">$Date.Nice</div>
  <div class="articleHolderClear"></div>
  <div class="newsSummary">$Content.FirstParagraph <a href="$Link" title="Read more on &quot;{$Title}&quot;">more &gt;&gt;</a></div>
  <div class="articleHolderFooter"></div>
</div>
 <% end_control %>

am i missing something?

thanks in advance,

FireMe!

Carbon Crayon

Community Member, 598 Posts

14 February 2009 at 7:02am

Hi FireMe!, welcome to SS :)