Skip to main content

This site requires you to update your browser. Your browsing experience maybe affected by not having the most up to date version.

We've moved the forum!

Please use forum.silverstripe.org for any new questions (announcement).
The forum archive will stick around, but will be read only.

You can also use our Slack channel or StackOverflow to ask for help.
Check out our community overview for more options to contribute.

General Questions /

General questions about getting started with SilverStripe that don't fit in any of the categories above.

Moderators: martimiz, Sean, Ed, biapar, Willr, Ingo, swaiba

Embed Video from Youtube

Go to End

3 Posts   5539 Views

reekrd

Community Member, 9 Posts

3 February 2009 at 10:12am

Hi I'm new to SilverStripe and I haven't kept my coding up to date so I'm pretty damn rusty. Anyhow. I want to show an embedded video from youtube on my home page. Having looked through the first two tutorials I figured I could add a new HTMLVarchar DBField to my HomePage and then simply copy paste the embed snippet from youtube.

That didn't work. Firefox says: XML Parsing Error: not well-formed and Safari says something about an EntityRef. As most of you already know this is due to the & in the embed code. And replacing & with & solves the problem.

However, manually replacing & with & isn't an option. So I thought maybe I could use PHP and simply replace & with & but after digging around for a while I learnt that you can't pass variables to the controller functions. So now I'm stuck. And would appreciate any help on where to begin. Can I get to the data before it is loaded into the DataObjects and place the PHP function there or what would be the correct way of doing this seemingly simple operation.

Best
.rickard

PS. By the looks of it silverstripe seems like a CMS I will use a lot if I get back into developing.

MrHyde

Community Member, 23 Posts

4 February 2009 at 2:14am

Edited: 04/02/2009 2:14am

Hi reekrd,